View Full Version : Hijacked boating link?
AngWood
09-24-2004, 01:07 PM
Does anyone else get a weird, crude web page about job interview questions when trying to visit Lowell's boat shop to look at dories? Try this link: http://www.lowellsboatshop.org/
rbgarr
09-24-2004, 01:28 PM
Use .com instead of .org
Try these. http://www.essexheritage.org/visiting/placestovisit/listofsitesbycommunity/lowells_boat_shop.shtml http://www.lowellsboatshop.com/ http://tuckershobbies.com/lowellsboatshop/
Dan McLaughlin
09-24-2004, 01:45 PM
Yes. Use www.lowellsboatshop.com (http://www.lowellsboatshop.com) instead.
AngWood
09-24-2004, 02:34 PM
Right. Thanks.
stevenj
09-24-2004, 05:10 PM
i made a similar mistake today... trying to find cheap tools, I went to freightharbor.com (http://www.freighthabor.com) . got cheezed! redface.gif :confused:
Duh, it's harborfreight.com (http://www.haborfreight.com)
pjwalsh
09-25-2004, 05:19 PM
I think the .org website is an example of an internet scam called "phishing". They try to get you to provide personal information by impersonating website of a legitimate business.
brian.cunningham
09-25-2004, 08:07 PM
If you don't have anti-spyware programs installed, you'll want to get it now. Those sites typically install programs that steal your passwords and credit card information. :(
AngWood
09-25-2004, 10:59 PM
The link on WB's "Site Links" page is to www.lowellboatshop.org. (http://www.lowellboatshop.org.) That's also the address in Lowell's Boat Shop's "Come Row!" ad in WB mag. But .com works, so whatever.
Joe ( Cold Spring on Hudson )
09-25-2004, 11:07 PM
Nice boats ;)
vBulletin® v3.8.1, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.