View Full Version : Not-a-Westsail on eBay (Arizona)
rbgarr
04-06-2007, 03:07 AM
http://tinyurl.com/2qglc7
Paul Fitzgerald
04-06-2007, 03:33 AM
Easy to se why they are so slow.
willmarsh3
04-06-2007, 09:33 AM
LOL, not too many places in Arizona where she will sail very fast :D
I've also heard them called "Wetsnails". But I know someone where I live who purchased a completed Westsail 32. I've seen it - its a stout, salty cruising boat that should take one around the world in comfort. They live aboard it but have once taken it out for a sail. Being a cruising boat kind of guy I felt a bit of envy. They knew it would not be as fast as a racer when they bought it but they were pleasantly surprised at the turn of speed.
rbgarr
04-06-2007, 10:02 AM
That boat is not even a Westsail either. It has practically no keel and wold be worse than the design the seller thinks it is.
George Ray
04-06-2007, 04:58 PM
http://www.boatus.com/jackhornor/sail/Westsail32.asp
http://www.boatus.com/jackhornor/sail/images/westgail32.gif
**********************
http://www.westsail.com/
**********************
http://www.westsail.org
http://www.westsail.org/satori.html
http://www.westsail.org/_images/satori.jpg
**********************
http://www.gypsywind.net/
http://home.earthlink.net/~baker116/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/img_0970.jpg
http://home.earthlink.net/~baker116/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/img_0962.jpg
paladin
04-06-2007, 08:29 PM
yup.....I wonder who his "experts" is......sure dunno look like a westsail to me.....
Steve Paskey
04-07-2007, 06:57 AM
I tain't no expert, but when I looked at the pics of the freshly-primered hull, all I could think is that she looks like a cartoon caricature of a cruising boat.
paladin
04-07-2007, 08:27 AM
an e-mail to the seller asking data/remarks on the westsail lineage came back with a smart a$$ed remark indicating, at least to me, that the seller either knows that it's not a westsail, or doesn't give a damn, that's the way he will advertise it.
S/V Laura Ellen
04-07-2007, 09:56 AM
an e-mail to the seller asking data/remarks on the westsail lineage came back with a smart a$$ed remark indicating, at least to me, that the seller either knows that it's not a westsail, or doesn't give a damn, that's the way he will advertise it.
You could always forward the response on to e-Bay, they really don't care for this type of thing and will/should force the seller to change the description (i.e. similar to a Westsail32)
paladin
04-07-2007, 11:42 AM
I would consider that as some sort of "Spamming" etc......and personnally do not care to get involved in such activities.....I merely was interested to know how good the seller's info was......
rbgarr
04-07-2007, 12:55 PM
I've noticed that soe people list their otor boats on eBay with the phrase 'like a Chris Craft' in the title. I think they prposeflly do that to get listed in a specific search for Chris Craft.
vBulletin® v3.8.1, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.